STARTING POINT_The COCO-Coop exhibition invites young people from 13 years of age to get involved. Interactive stations seek to enhance their awareness of consumption in the spirit of social and ecological sustainability.

SPATIAL CONCEPT and SCENOGRAPHY_Consumption affects us all, every day, but what lies behind it?

Our objective was to create an open spatial atmosphere that fuels the desire to discover more by perceptibly imbuing the design with a sense of “looking behind the scenes”. An over-dimensional tapestry of logos whose colours flow together leads from the ground-floor reception into the exhibition space: a synonym for the world of consumption with all its noisy attractions, which is partially masked by white, semi-transparent screens. The aim is to encourage discussion about what lies behind these advertised goods, promotions and temptations. The screens give the space a new boundary that merges the various areas into a single, flowing spatial continuum and provides an intuitive sense of orientation.

The installations and furniture are created from red-stained MDF panels and white-glazed timber slats. These combine to generate a diverse yet uniform ambience which is designed to focus the attention on the content of the exhibition and perceptibly enlarge the restricted exhibition space.

Four areas defined by different visitor experiences and contrasting uses have been created in the exhibition space for the 15 interactive stations. The hub of the L-shaped space is occupied by a parliament that acts as a display for discussions and voting procedures. In addition to this there is an area of seating with tables and a lounge landscape. An interactive art installation on the subject of energy by David Moises and Chris Janka not only invites the young people to think and debate but also leaves them dancing – and sweating.

ADDRESS
Wirtschaftsmuseum, Vogelsanggasse 36, 1050 Wien (A)

CLIENT
Österreichisches Gesellschafts- und Wirtschaftsmuseum

EXHIBITION DESIGN
tnE Architects

CONCEPT and CURATING
Thomas Marschall, Virgil Guggenberger

GRAPHIC DESIGN
Dorothea Brunialti

AUSGANGSPUNKT_Die COCO-Coop-Ausstellung lädt Jugendliche ab 13 Jahren zum Mitmachen ein. Durch interaktive Stationen soll das Bewusstsein für Konsum im Sinne sozialer und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit gestärkt werden.

RAUMKONZEPT UND SZENOGRAPHIE_Konsum betrifft uns alle tagtäglich, doch was steckt dahinter?

Ziel war es ein offenes Raumambiente zu schaffen, das ein „hinter die Kulissen blicken“ spürbar in die Gestaltung einbindet und die Lust zu entdecken schürt. Eine überdimensionale, farblich verlaufende Logo-Tapete führt vom Einführungsraum im Erdgeschoß in den Ausstellungsraum: ein Synonym für die Konsumwelt mit all ihren marktschreienden Verführungen, die durch weiße semitransparente Screens partiell ausgeblendet wird. Dadurch soll die Diskussion darüber angeregt werden, was hinter den angepriesenen Waren, Werbungen und Verführungen steht. Die  Screens bilden eine neue Raumkontur, welche die verschiedenen Bereiche zu einem fließenden Raumkontinuum verbindet und eine natürliche Orientierung gewährleisten.

Einbauten und Möbel sind aus rot eingefärbten MDF Platten und weiß lasierten Holzstäben konzipiert. Generiert wird ein vielfältiges, aber dennoch einheitliches Ambiente, um die Konzentration auf die Ausstellungsinhalte zu lenken und den begrenzten Ausstellungsraum wahrnehmbar zu erweitern.

Für die 15 Spiel-Stationen wurden im Ausstellungsraum vier Bereiche mit unterschiedlicher Aufenthaltsqualität geschaffen, die wechselweise bespielt werden.  Im Drehpunkt des L-förmigen Raumes ist das Parlament positioniert, das als Display für Diskussionen und Abstimmungen dient. Außerdem gibt es einen Sitzbereich mit Tischen und eine Lounge-Landschaft. Eine interaktive Kunstinstallation zum Thema Energie von David Moises und Chris Janka lädt die Jugendlichen nicht nur zum Nachdenken und Diskutieren ein, sondern lässt sie auch schwitzen und tanzen.

ADRESSE
Wirtschaftsmuseum, Vogelsanggasse 36, 1050 Wien (A)

AUTRAGGEBER
Österreichisches Gesellschafts- und Wirtschaftsmuseum

AUSSTELLUNGSDESIGN
tnE Architects

KONZEPT und KURATIERUNG
Thomas Marschall, Virgil Guggenberger

AUSTELLUNGSGRAFIK
Dorothea Brunialti