YOU AND I, HERE AND THERE – An exhibition dealing with forced displacement, arrival and living together for children ages 6 to 12
29. September 2017 – 02. September 2018

In recent years millions of people, half of them children, have fled from war, human rights abuses and hunger. Child refugees now go to school here and share their school day with Austrian children. The exhibition “You and I, here and there” seeks to contribute to the discovery of similarities and differences and to help the children get to know each other better as a way of avoiding misunderstandings. It uses playful methods to show how we can all succeed in living well together.

In spatial terms the subject of become acquainted and discovery is set in an open and cheerful atmosphere that employs a mixture of cultural approaches through the choice of colours, ornament and materials. The individual play stations are built from corrugated cardboard: objects of up to 3.5 m in height with a range of forms that structure the entire space and are thoroughly accessible and usable. The coated cardboard generates a specific, haptically satisfying surface aesthetic that powerfully influences the entire atmosphere.

The exhibition opens with an audio drama on the subject of “forced displacement” whose narration and other sounds are set in a completely enclosed temporary tented space. At the end of the drama the curtain and the edge of this space open and the collective discovering and playing can begin.

Project
Exhibition

Location
Vienna, AT

Completed
2017

Client
ZOOM Kindermuseum Vienna, AT

Curators & Concept
Elisabeth Menasse-Wiesbauer, Claudia Haas, Thomas Marschall

Exhibition Architecture
tnE Architects

Graphic Design
Dorothea Brunialti

Fixtures
Dekotrend GmbH, AT

Photos
Lukas Schaller

DU UND ICH, DORT UND DA  – Eine Ausstellung über Flucht, Ankunft und Zusammenleben für Kinder von 6 bis 12 Jahren
29. September 2017 – 02. September 2018

In den letzten Jahren flüchteten Millionen Menschen, die Hälfte davon Kinder, vor Krieg, Menschenrechtsverletzungen und Hunger. Geflüchtete Kinder gehen nun bei uns zur Schule und erleben gemeinsam mit österreichischen Kindern den Schulalltag. Die Ausstellung „Du und ich, dort und da“ soll dazu beitragen, Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede zu entdecken und sich dabei näher kennenzulernen, um Missverständnisse zu vermeiden. Sie zeigt spielerisch, wie ein gutes Zusammenleben für alle gelingen kann.

Räumlich wird das Thema des Kennenlernens und Entdeckens in ein offenes und heiteres Ambiente eingebettet, das durch die Auswahl der Farben, durch Ornamentik und Materialien eine Mischung kultureller Zugängen thematisiert. Die einzelnen Spielstationen sind aus Wabenkarton gebaut: bis zu 3,5 m hohe Objekte unterschiedlichster Ausformung, die den Gesamtraum strukturieren sowie rundum zugänglich und benutzbar sind. Der geschichtete Wabenkarton erzeugt eine eigene, haptisch ansprechende Oberflächenästhetik, die die Gesamtatmosphäre wesentlich prägt.

Den Einstieg in die Ausstellung bildet ein Hörspiel zur „Flucht“, dessen Erzählung und Soundkulisse in eine allseitig umschlossene, temporäre Zeltarchitektur eingebettet sind. Am Ende des Hörspiels öffnen sich Vorhang und Grenzbalken und das gemeinsame Entdecken und Spielen kann beginnen.

Projekt
Ausstellung

Ort
Wien, AT

Fertigstellung
2017

Auftraggeber
ZOOM Kindermuseum Wien, AT

Konzept & Kuratierung
Elisabeth Menasse-Wiesbauer, Claudia Haas, Thomas Marschall

Ausstellungsarchitektur
tnE Architects

Grafik Design
Dorothea Brunialti

Einbauten
Dekotrend GmbH, AT

Fotos
Lukas Schaller